It might not be pretty

Tonight’s dance list 5.24.15

Leave a comment

Sunday 5.24.15
Had to dance tonight. Two sets! We could barely move a muscle last night after spending seven hours (!) at my school hanging the year-end art show, which looks pretty good, if I do say so myself, considering all events of late. Here is tonight’s list; Friday’s list follows.

Higher Ground–Stevie Wonder;
It’s Never as Good as the First Time–Sade;
Black and White (Instrumental)–Michael Jackson (This version along with the word version were the first songs we danced to in this house, almost 20 years ago. The CD arrived in a box of stuff from our friend Maria in Sweden and I think it was our very first CD, too.);
Ford Econoline–Chuck Prophet (We saw Chuck at The Tractor in Seattle in January with Z&D. Great show. Check him out.);
Honky Tonk Women–The Rolling Stones.

And a few minutes later, a second set:
Kansas City/Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey!–The Beatles;
Jamaica Jerk-Off– Elton John;
From a Whisper to a Scream–Elvis Costello & the Attractions;
Love for Sale–Talking Heads;
Free Man in Paris–Joni Mitchell;
American Squirm–Nick Lowe.

Friday 5.22.15
My Dear Husband sums it up: “Why sit down for these songs?”

Tenth Avenue Freeze Out–Bruce Springsteen (We both remember where we were when we first heard this song, do you? I was in a dorm room at Columbia.);
Tear Off Your Own Head (It’s a Doll Revolution)–Elvis Costello;
Because the Night (Live)–Bruce Springsteen (One of my FAVORITE song titles ever. I got into this song first through Patti Smith [oh, and if you like Patti Smith and/or New York and you haven’t read Just Kids, you really ought to]);
I Got a Feeling–Otis Shin;
Please Please Me–The Beatles.

After I jotted down these five, we spun one more: I’ve Got You Babe–UB 40 featuring Chrissy Hynde. What a sweet way to end yet another long day and week.

Leave a comment